WCPS News and Announcements

2017 Statement on DA-RT


WCPS Mansbridge Award Nominations

The WCPS is seeking nominations for the Mansbridge Award. The Caucus established the Mansbridge Award in 2015 to honor political scientist Jane Mansbridge, a past WCPS President, former APSA President and a tireless worker, dedicated to opening new opportunities for women. The Jane Mansbridge Award is given on special occasions to extraordinary individuals who perform service above and beyond the call of duty on behalf of the WCPS and to advance opportunities for women in general.  The 2016 recipients were Women Also Know Stuff (WAKS) and the many people who blew the whistle on sexual harassment in our profession. Recipients of the Mansbridge Award are chosen by the WCPS President, President elect, and past President.Send your nominations by August 1, 2017 to Denise Walsh: denise@virginia.edu.

The 2017 Negotiating Agreement in Congress Research Grants competition is now underway!

Please click on the link to learn more information.

CSWP Taskforce Report:

APSA 2017 Panel on “The Sexual Division of Labor in the Professor”

We are co-sponsoring an APSA 2017 panel on The Sexual Division of Labor in the Profession. The WCPS hopes that the panel will tackle  important topics like the wage gap and contingent labor. Nancy Hirschmann has agreed to chair the panel. If you or someone you know is doing research in this area, please contact Denise Walsh:  denise@virginia.edu.
UPDATE: WCPS officers are pleased to announce our roundtable for APSA 2017, “The Sexual Division of Labor in the Profession.” The roundtable, co-sponsored with the Committee on the Status of Women in the Profession, will investigate the ways in which work in the political science profession is gendered, and will address contingent labor, graduate training, methods, leadership in disciplinary associations and status in the profession. Participants include Nancy Hirschmann, Gwendolyn Beetham, Karen Cardozo, Heidi Hardt, Shauna Shames, Amy Atchinson, and Karen J. Alter.

Okin-Young Award 2016 Winner:

Jakeet Singh, Illinois State University
Title: “Religious Agency and the Limits of Intersectionality.” Hypatia, Volume 30, Issue 4, pages 657-674, Fall 2015

CfP: Okin-Young Award, 2017

The Okin-Young Award is co-sponsored by Women and Politics, Foundations of Political Theory, and the Women’s Caucus for Political Science. This award commemorates the scholarly, mentoring, and professional contributions of Susan Moller Okin and Iris Marion Young to the development of the field of feminist political theory. This annual award recognizes the best paper on feminist political theory published in an English language academic journal during the previous calendar year. Papers will be considered by self-nomination or nomination by other individuals. The award carries a cash award of $600. To be eligible, the article must have been published in 2016. The deadline for submissions will be February 15, 2017. To be considered for this award, one copy of the article should be sent to the Chair of the committee.

Committee Members:

Kathy Ferguson (chair) kferguso@hawaii.edu),  University of Hawaii, for the Women’s Caucus in Political Science

Jennet Kirkpatricak (jennetk@asu.edu), Arizona State University, for the Women and Politics Research Section

Sina Jo Kramer (sina.kramer@lmu.edu), Loyola Marymount University, for the Foundations of Political Theory