WCPS News and Announcements


People of Color Also Know Stuff (inspired by Women Also Know Stuff!)

People of Color Also Know Stuff are excited to share the launch of their newly renovated website, mission statement, and POC Expert directory. They seek to promote and celebrate POC Experts, as well as foster community and mentoring for grad students and early-career scholars in Political Science.

Check it out!


WCPS Mansbridge Award Nominations

The WCPS is seeking nominations for the Mansbridge Award. The Caucus established the Mansbridge Award in 2015 to honor political scientist Jane Mansbridge, a past WCPS President, former APSA President and a tireless worker, dedicated to opening new opportunities for women. The Jane Mansbridge Award is given on special occasions to extraordinary individuals who perform service above and beyond the call of duty on behalf of the WCPS and to advance opportunities for women in general.  The 2016 recipients were Women Also Know Stuff (WAKS) and the many people who blew the whistle on sexual harassment in our profession. Recipients of the Mansbridge Award are chosen by the WCPS President, President elect, and past President.Send your nominations by July 1, 2019 to the current President.


CSWP Taskforce Report:

Okin-Young Award 2018 Winner:

Nina Hagel, Bates College

The Okin-Young Award is co-sponsored by Women and Politics, Foundations of Political Theory, and the Women’s Caucus for Political Science. This award commemorates the scholarly, mentoring, and professional contributions of Susan Moller Okin and Iris Marion Young to the development of the field of feminist political theory. This annual award recognizes the best paper on feminist political theory published in an English language academic journal during the previous calendar year. Papers will be considered by self-nomination or nomination by other individuals.  For 2019 award, to be eligible, the article must have been published in 2018. The deadline for submissions will be February 15, 2019. To be considered for this award, one copy of the article should be sent to the Chair of the committee.